For Beginners and Experts Alike: L’Oreal Makeup Genius

If you love makeup you’ve experienced the hope of something working for you only to find out it’s nothing like you thought. If you’re a makeup novice you may grapple with the anxiety of picking something that isn’t going to work for you. No matter the camp you fall in, as a consumer, you have to take a chance, hope for the best, and worst case scenario return it if it doesn’t work. Well L’Oreal is attempting to take some of that guesswork out with their new makeup testing app Makeup Genius.

loreal makeup genius

“Forget everything you know about the makeup apps you’ve seen before…

L’Oréal Paris introduces the 1st virtual makeup tester. Try makeup looks and products on yourself and see them move with you in real time. This exclusive technology from major Hollywood studios has never been seen before in the world of beauty. Create your own or try ready-to-wear looks curated by makeup artists instantly. See yourself made up in just one click. Virtual makeup try-on has never been more real.

Your smartphone becomes your mirror…

…and your next must have beauty accessory” 

So I tried Makeup Genius. I haven’t used it to buy anything because the weather sucks here but I wanted to give it a go to see if this app lived up to my expectations. This is available on Itunes and the Google Play Store so no one should be left out. Using my front facing camera I let the app scan my face and from there I was able to pick and choose lipstick, lip gloss, blush, eyeliner and eyeshadow from L’Oreal products to create my own look or choose from a MUA created look.

Makeup Genius Intenza look
I recommend filling in your brows and maybe even putting on foundation or bb cream to get a clear sense of what it could look like. I only filled in my brows though. :-\

 

The cool thing about this app is that the makeup moves with you in real time. There were glitches at times but for the most part the lip products stayed on my lips through smiling and even through duck lips.

Makeup Genius Duck lips
Lipstick moved with my lips.

 

I didn’t really care for the eyeshadow application from a 4 color palette because the application didn’t look natural but I was impressed with the single shadow application. The eyeliner was decent but not all that helpful with choosing a product because each liner had its own shape that may or may not reflect the way the consumer wants to wear it. I did like the possibilities of the lip gloss and lipstick though. I think if you’re scared to try certain colors of lipstick this app could help because you can lower the risk of walking out the door looking silly or buying something you’ll hate.

See that? Just no but I can find this out in comfort of my home with a spending a dime.
See that? Just no but I can find this out in comfort of my home without a spending a dime.

Overall I like the app but there’s room for improvement(Maybe they’ll add concealer and foundation one day). It still could be a great tool for a beginner or expert because both parties could benefit from knowing what they might look like while wearing a product before they have put down some cash.

Makeup Genius is available on iTunes and Google Play for your smartphone and tablet.

One thought on “For Beginners and Experts Alike: L’Oreal Makeup Genius”

Join The Conversation

