elf Lip Exfoliator

Product Bust! e.l.f Studio Lip Exfoliator

 

Oh, the disappointment. I bought e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator with much excitement. My Target has been selling e.l.f. for 6 months or so but this product was never there. Two days ago I saw this in my Wal-Mart and clouds parted as I snatched it up for $3. If I only knew then what I know now.

elf Lip Exfoliator
e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator $3

Turns out this product is not good. It started out decently. I could feel a bit of exfoliation happening from the sugar crystals as I used it on my damp lips (per instructions) but after a few uses it started to feel really rough on my skin. The balance between the sugar and base it was in changed drastically. Rough might be an understatement because it was actually quite painful. Besides the pain, it also wasn’t built to withstand pressure.

I came to this conclusion when the product was pressing against the edge of the tube. I twisted it up to see how much damage was done and it broke away from the tube without much resistance. It’s basically an exfoliator in the shape of a lipstick so I’m not surprised that it broke. I think anything in that shape is susceptible to breaking under pressure.

Broken elf lip exfoliator
See that. Broke. Many sads.

An improvement would be to make the product tip flat so less needs to come out of the tube thus making it less likely to break. Or perhaps just toss the lipstick tube all together and put it in a lip balm tube. It might not look as sleek but one could at least get more uses out of it.

I’m disappointed this product was a bust but what can I do? I hoped this would be a nice alternative my toothbrush or a coarse towel. I would return it, but I’d rather just take the loss since it was only $3. I guess I’m on to the next one though.

e.l.f. lip exfoliator not that great

Have you tried the Lip Exfoliator from e.l.f. cosmetics? What do you use to exfoliate your lips?

e.l.f Studio Lip Exfoliator is $3 and can be found whereever e.l.f products are sold and online.

6 thoughts on “Product Bust! e.l.f Studio Lip Exfoliator”

  1. Such a shame as I wanted to order this as an alternative to the Ilia Balmy Nights lip exfoliator (which I like). The Ilia one is in a tube with a flat top and is great but it costs £22!

  2. 😦 I like it even though I have to work with it. I only screw it up slightly and use almost little to no pressure because it CAN get rough. I usually buy the scrubs from Lush, Bliss and Tarte, but I like that this is a stick and I don’t have to dig in those messy jars.

Join The Conversation

