New and Improved! Nars Lip Gloss – Stella

Full Disclosure: Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss in Stella was sent to me. I was not obligated to review. All opinions/reviews about the product are my own.  

I was lucky enough to be a sent a few Nars Cosmetics products last week. One of them happened to be their reformulated lip gloss in Stella. This is my first experience with the new formula and I’m pretty impressed.

Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss in Stella $26
Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss in Stella. $26

One of the complaints about the old formula was its thickness and stickiness. It wasn’t ever anything that kept me from purchasing, but the new formula doesn’t have those problems. When I remove the wand from the gloss I can tell that there isn’t any resistance. With the old glosses that’s not the case.

Stella is described as a muted raspberry
Stella is described as a muted raspberry

It felt more moisturizing than the old formula. I tend to purse my lips or rub them together and I could tell that this gloss was much lighter than the old gloss. My lips moved past each other easily. I didn’t feel any tackiness that I’ve come to expect with most lip glosses.

The packaging has changed as well. The old tube was somewhat frosted which made the color look hazy while the new tube is clear so there’s no doubt about what color you’re purchasing.

Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss Packaging Comparison
I’m really not sure which packaging I like the best. What do you think?

A downside to the new formula and packaging is that you’re getting less product. The original formula’s net weight varied between .24oz and .28oz and this new formula is .18oz. If you’re big on these lip glosses you might feel cheated because you losing around 25% of the product but still paying the original price of $26.

I still think the glosses are worth it, especially if you’re looking for something to correspond with a Nars lip product you already have or want to buy. If you go to the Nars Cosmetics website and choose a product it will show other products that work well with it. I know there are cheaper dupes for a lot of products, but I’m also a fan of taking the guesswork out of make-up buying. I like having products that I feel were made to work together so I know that I’m going to replace my older Nars Lip Glosses with the new ones to go with lipsticks I already own.

Have you tried a new Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss? How do you think it compares to the old formula?

Nars Cosmetics Lip Gloss retails for $26 and is available at narscosmetics.com, and wherever Nars Cosmetics are sold.

Join The Conversation

