Beauty Q&A: Do You Care How The Face of A Brand Presents Itself?

The internet is full of conflict. While some people thrive on it to the point of seeking it out, I tend to avoid it. There are positives and negatives to this type of mentality I won’t get into because this post isn’t about me but about you and what you think.

Within the last couple of days these things have been posted on Doe Deere’s Instagram page. Doe Deere is the creator of independent make-up brand Lime Crime.

doe deere screenshot 1
This obviously a screenshot but you can see it here.

 

Doe Deere reposted an IG post of Kat Von D's response to a commenter and praised her for it.
Doe Deere reposted an IG post of Kat Von D’s response to a commenter and praised her for it.

Some comments on the posts felt the response was justified while others felt it was unprofessional. I’m not exactly sure where I stand with this. I’m not the insulting type. Like I said, I tend to avoid conflict, but I can’t imagine what it’s like for people to try you on a regular basis. We all know some people suddenly become brave because they’re behind a computer screen and not in your face. However, another part of me wonders since the owner/face of a brand possibly has more to lose than some commenter why acknowledge them with vitriol and blemish your brand or persona?

While I like Lime Crime I’m not emotionally invested in the brand. It wouldn’t hurt me to stop using the products because I’ve only purchased one product from them. However, if François Nars(my patronus) did something like this regularly I would be conflicted about continuing to support that brand.

I bring all this up to ask, where do you stand when it comes to these issues? Do you think the face of a brand should always practice a certain level of decorum even in the face of (possibly unfair) criticism/insults or do you think he/she is allowed to defend his/herself without it affecting the brand?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this so please leave a comment below.

10 thoughts on “Beauty Q&A: Do You Care How The Face of A Brand Presents Itself?”

    1. Exactly, when you are representing your brand you have to be mature. I’ve heard a lot about Doe Deere being immature and not very professional, which makes me hesitant to buy her products.

      1. I had no idea how far back this kind of stuff went until I searched her name and saw other blogposts about her. Since this isn’t a one time thing, I’m not surprised that it’s made you hesitant to try her products.

  1. I think it’s a bit of levels to this. It’s how you represent the brand from jump. If you are twardy and offensive with your responses as a baby company then can that be more excused. However, I don’t like it. If I ask a question I would prefer a professional response. If she can’t do it send a Problem person. Now if nars answered me in this way you know their would be product at my door and I am sorry. That’s because they have more to lose and people expect a professional brand with great customer service. This company lime crime doesn’t have that. I wonder will this stop her on the way to the top

    1. I think you’re right about it being levels to this. It seems that she’s been like this for awhile and it hasn’t stopped her. Perhaps the products outweigh the press at this point. Sometimes I think it’s the climate we live in now. Some of us see snark or meanness as real and politeness as a front. If that’s the case then she may continue to thrive.

  2. Wow! There are some nasty people out there but once you stoop to their level it will surely affect the brand. As a consumer, no matter how good the product is, if the service is awful I will not purchase/repurchase. Comments on social media are all part of the service as it is a marketing and communication tool. I would feel uneasy buying from a company giving an unprofessional impression.

Join The Conversation

