CoverGirl Queen ‘Jammin Gem’ Jumbo Gloss Balm Review

There are thousands of beauty products to try in the drug stores. I hit up Walgreens several times a month just to see if there’s something new or to grab something that I’ve really wanted to try. Lately I’ve been looking at the gloss balm stick that a lot of brands are coming out with. Revlon has a few but I passed on them to try the CoverGirl Queen Collection Jumbo Gloss Balm.

Cover Girl Queen Gloss Balm - Jammin Gem
Cover Girl Queen Collection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Jammin Gem

I picked the Jumbo Gloss Balm not so much because of quality(CG is still a good brand) or some affinity for CoverGirl, but because it was still wrapped on the shelf. I feel weird buying stuff that isn’t wrapped in the drug store. It would be great if they had testers but what can you do.

Anyway, on to the product.

Cover Girl Queen Gloss Balm - Jammin Gem
CG Jumbo Gloss Balm retails for 9.49 at Walgreens but prices may vary elsewhere

The CoverGirl Queen Collection Jumbo Gloss Balm retails for 9.49 at Walgreens. I’ve seen lower prices during a web search so check around. It comes in 16 shades and is fortified with shea butter and mango butter. I chose Jammin Gem.

CG Queen Jammin Gem Swatch
Left: Jammin Gem after a few passes.
Right: Jammin Gem in one swipe.

It goes on very sheer but with a few passes it builds up. It’s shiny like a gloss but not sticky like a gloss. It’s definitely the texture of a lip balm but more pigmented. It’s moisturizing which makes sense because it has mango and shea butter in it. It reminds me a bit of the tinted Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment balms but half the price. I have no idea how comparable they are to the Revlon jumbo balms. Perhaps I’ll compare at some point.

Since this is a CoverGirl Queen Collection product it’s safe to say this is black/brown girl friendly. There aren’t any overly pale shades that you just know aren’t for you. I think these gloss balms are a happy medium between a lipstick and a slightly tinted gloss.

I know some people aren’t ready for a fully pigmented lipstick or dislike the feeling of lipstick. At the same time they’ve moved beyond lip gloss want to try color. I think this product is good for that or a makeup junkie like me.

Cover Girl Queen Jammin Gem Jumbo Gloss Balm

COVERGIRL Queen Collection Jumbo Gloss Balm can be found wherever the COVERGIRL Queen Collection is sold and online.

One thought on “CoverGirl Queen ‘Jammin Gem’ Jumbo Gloss Balm Review”

Join The Conversation

