Maybelline The Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara Review

When it comes to drugstore mascaras I think Maybelline’s are the bees knees. By no means have I tried them all, but I feel that I’ve tried more Maybelline mascaras that work for me than other brands. I think the Volum Express The Colossal Cat Eyes is another win.

Volum Express Cat Eyes
Maybelline Volum Express Colossal Cat Eyes retails for $5.99

The wand has a typical curved brush. When I pulled it out of the tube I was happy that the mascara wasn’t gooped all over the wand. I know it’s nothing to clean it off on a tissue but it’s just something I like. And the bristles get all my lashes.

The wand
The wand

The formula is thin. I put on several coats and really didn’t experience any clumping. I regularly use two coats with most mascaras and was able to do 5 with this one. And for 5 coats of mascara, my lashes didn’t feel crispy. The end result is subtle.

My bare lash
My bare lash
Colossal Cat Eyes
My lash with Maybelline Volum Express The Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara

It gives good curl and lengthens but because the formula is thin my lashes had a very natural look to them. It reminds me of what I wish my lashes did on their own. This isn’t a thickening, super glam mascara, at least for me. This mascara is something I’d wear when I don’t want to do a full face but want my eyes to look pretty and awake. A lipgloss and mascara day so to speak.

A sidenote: This mascara gives up the ghost quick when wet but there is a waterproof version.

So are you big on Maybelline mascaras? Let me know in the comments.

Maybelline Volum Express retails for $5.99 and can be found where Maybelline products are sold and online.

11 thoughts on “Maybelline The Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara Review”

  1. I bought one of these, I’m just waiting to finish my cover girl mascara. Thanks for the review can’t wait to try it.

    1. I actually have tried Rocket and you’re right it is a lot more volumizing. I may try layering the Cat Eyes with something else because I do like the way it lengthens. Thank you for the comment.

Join The Conversation

