e.l.f. Studio Mineral Infused Face Primer(Radiant Glow)

I decided to try a new face primer while on a Target run. I typically use a more expensive brand, but I wanted to see what was out there at a more affordable price. I think options are important in make-up since formulas change and products get discontinued.

Elf Mineral Face Primer Radiant Glow
Elf Studio Mineral Infused Primer retails for $6

I landed on the e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer in Radiant Glow. This was my first time trying an illuminating product so I was a little apprehensive when I pumped the product out to test it on my arm.

Texture-wise it’s very light and airy. It’s more the consistency of a firm mousse when it’s pumped out than a gel or lotion. The color of the product is on the tan side, but it readily absorbs into the skin so the claim it’s for all skin tones is probably true. However, the sparkle in the product that’s left behind is undeniable.

Elf Face Primer Radiant Glow Swatch
Serious sparkle is left behind but it my skin color doesn’t look altered.

For a product that’s called Radiant Glow I was expecting sheen instead of sparkle. The tiny flecks of gold were very evident on my face upon application of the product and immediately after applying my foundation. This effect did seem to go away though and I could tell that my foundation was a bit brighter which was nice. I typically like my foundation matte so this is a decent alternative.

elf my face
This is after a 5 hours so while I had to blot my foundation didn’t slide around.

I’m still unsure if a product with this much sparkle is meant for all over the face. The sparkle makes me think that it should be a highlight instead of a primer. I also wish that it controlled my oil better, but since my face produces lots of oil that seems like a lot to ask. As long as I wear make-up I’m going to have to blot. That’s life I guess.

e.l.f. Studio Mineral Infused Face Primer retails for $6. There are 3 other options(clear, tone adjusting green, and brightening lavender)and they can be found where e.l.f. products are sold and online.
Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone,Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone  Crosspolymer, Silica, Silica Dimethyl  Silylate, Phenoxyethanol       May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI  77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Red 40 Lake (CI  16035), Blue 1 Lake (CI  42090), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Tin Oxide (CI 77861)
 
4 thoughts on “e.l.f. Studio Mineral Infused Face Primer(Radiant Glow)”

Join The Conversation

