Are Your Natural Hair Choices Expanding?

I was in Wal-Mart a few days ago aimlessly browsing to kill some time and I ended up in the hair care section. I specifically stopped in the black hair care section(we don’t have a whole aisle) and it occurred to me that there were quite a few choices for the natural haired/relaxer free black woman.

Lots of choices.
Lots of choices.

I remember when my choices consisted of petroleum and mineral oil laden concoctions I had long given up on while I still had a relaxer. This lack of choices is what pushed me to explore what was available via the internet. Now I see some of the brands that used to only be available with a shipping charge attached are now in stores. This makes me happy.

I’m excited that newly natural and long-term natural haired women have choices that don’t require them to get on a computer. I’m sure this is great for the parent of natural haired children as well. I know that choosing to let go of relaxed hair is hard when you don’t know where to turn for hair care products because the stuff you used before is doing more bad than good.

What began as a barely a row of choices has flourished. Brands like Miss Jessie’s, Curls, and Jane Carter Solution are available for the masses. In Spring 2014 Oyin Handmade(my favorite brand btw) will be available in Target. I feel like it’s an exciting time for those of us who like these brands but also like the convenience of hopping in our cars or onto mass transit to pick them up instead of waiting for them to be delivered.

With all that said how do you feel about the expansion of natural hair care products in your area? Have you noticed more choices than in years past? Leave a comment below.  

12 thoughts on “Are Your Natural Hair Choices Expanding?”

  1. My daughter has 3c/4a hair, and I have 2a/b hair. My hair doesn’t need the maintenance and care that hers needs, and I am seriously struggling to find things for her hair! This kind of shelf doesn’t help us at all because I don’t want to put just anything on her hair. I want natural stuff, and it’s hard to find.

  2. I have also noticed a huge surge in natural hair products. Even though I still haven’t found the right products for me, it’s encouraging to know there are more options.

    1. Thank you for your comment. I’m lucky this Wal-Mart has responded positively to the needs of the community. I haven’t explored other areas of my city so I’m not sure how typical this is.

Join The Conversation

