My Sephora Color IQ Experience

A few of my Color IQ foundation options.
A few of my Color IQ foundation options.

I was in my Sephora in JcPenney today to pick up a black lipstick(there will be photos oh yes there will be photos)and one of the workers was helping a customer at their Color IQ station. I decided to check it out so I could see what colors the machine would say are right for me.

The woman who helped me, Desiree, took a photo of my forehead, cheek, and jawline with a little handheld camera placed directly on my face. It reminded me of a Wii remote or Playstation Move controller. It took no longer than a minute to get my foundation options and I found out that I am “1Y12”. Desiree even sent it to my email which was really great.

Now here’s the rub. On Sephora.com there’s an option to get your color match based on what you already use. I used this a few months ago. I’ve been wearing Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in 178 and when I put that in the Color IQ it said I’m “1Y14”.

I’m not really sweating the difference. Desiree said the lighting could’ve had an effect on the machine and I wasn’t expecting 100% accuracy. I also like the shade I use. I was just looking for options and hoping that I was wearing a shade that is close to my recommended shade.

If you’re in the market for a foundation and plan on shopping at Sephora this is wonderful option to take advantage of. It can take a lot of guesswork out of finding the right foundation shade for you. And with most of the store’s options right there you can make an informed choice based on prices /or formula.  

3 thoughts on “My Sephora Color IQ Experience”

Join The Conversation

